The Accra Regional Command of the Ghana National Fire Service is Headed by ACFO EBENEZER SIMPSON.Formerly, the Greater Accra Region covered the whole of the Political Region until Tema Region was calved out of it in the 1990’s. The Command used to be housed and located at Makola, co-hosting the Metropolitan Fire Station until the early part of 2012 when it moved to its present location at Korle-Bu, near the Commercial Bank. The Accra and Tema Regions, as per the 2010 population census, catered for 16% of the country’s population as indicated in the pie chart below.


The Accra Region has a total Staff strength of One thousand two hundred and seventy (1,279). There are two hundred and eight (208) Senior Officers made up of One hundred twenty one (121) males and eighty seven (87) females. The Junior Staff in the Region is One Thousand and Seventy-One (1,071) made up of five hundred and sixty (560) males and five hundred and eleven (511) females. The Region currently has Seventeen (17) active Fire Stations. The Stations together with their respective locations are
• Accra City (Makola Market) • Industrial Area (State Transport yard) • Madina (REDCO Flats) • Legon ( Near the School of Performing Arts) • Trade Fair (Trade fair site La.) • Dansoman (Dansoman Market) • Amasaman (Ga west municipal Assembly premises) • Adjen Kotoku (Near the Kotoku Railway Station) • Weija (GICEL Estates) • Flagstaff House (Office of the President) • Castle (Osu) • Korle-Bu (Near the Morgue) • Ledzokuku Krowor (Nungua) • Adentan (Housing down shopping mall) • RHQ Sub Station (Same premises as Korle-Bu Commercial Bank) • Training School Fire Station (Fire Academy and Training School-James Town) • Abelemkpe Fire Station (National Security Council Secretariat premises)


There are twenty six (26) appliances in the Region comprising the following; One (1) Turn Table Ladder One (1) Recovery truck Two (2) Water Tankers Twenty two (22) dual purpose and water tenders.


The Region runs special operations from three (3) locations in the area of Urban Search and Rescue (USAR) and Road Traffic Collision (RTC). Rescue Vans and specially trained officers have been deployed as follows: 1. Weija – this team is responsible for rescue operations and Road Traffic Accidents from Mallam junction to Kasoa. 2. Amasaman – takes care of Rescue Operations and Road Traffic Collision Extrication from Ofankor to Nsawam. 3. Abelemkpe – charged with incidents from the shiashie side of the ‘N’ ONE Highway to Mallam junction, as well as Achimota and its environs.